UK. Multi-engineer maintenance and service operations

Which field service app fits a UK multi-engineer operation?

Above about twenty engineers the buying question stops being the app and starts being the operation: who schedules, what happens to an SLA breach, how subcontractors get paid, who signs off the security questionnaire, and how long the contract runs. This table records what nine suppliers publish on their own pages against those questions, and is blunt about the three that publish no price at all.

£80.70

per user per month paid yearly, excluding VAT: Microsoft's published UK price for a Dynamics 365 Field Service licence

microsoft.com, checked 15 August 2026

£140

per user per month billed annually: Salesforce's published UK price for a Field Service Dispatcher or Technician licence

salesforce.com UK, checked 15 August 2026

£45

per user per month billed annually: the lowest per-user price published in pounds by a UK specialist here, Joblogic Standard

joblogic.com pricing, checked 15 August 2026

Kind of product
Price
Option supplier's own page, checked 15 Aug 2026
Joblogic Multi-site FM and multi-trade contractorsStates 7,000 plus UK businesses and 25 years UK-built. Enterprise is described for multi-site operations, FM contractors and multi-trade businesses with complex compliance needsJob Planner in Standard; Route Scheduling and Engineer Tracking move up to Premium. The marketplace is described as carrying AI scheduling and dynamic routing among 70 plus appsPPM Contracts, Timesheets and Audits in Premium; Task and Asset Compliance, Customer Portal, Stock Management and Group Invoicing with Schedule of Rates in EnterpriseA Subcontractor Portal appears in its published feature lists, on the industry pages rather than the pricing pageStandard from £45 per user per month billed annually (5 users worked as £225 a month). Premium is pricing on request, Enterprise is custom. States per-user pricing scales linearly to 50 users, then a custom commercial agreementISO 27001 certified, Cyber Essentials Plus and penetration tested, all stated on the pricing page. States most customers commit to 24 or 36 months, with 12 months available
Protean Software Equipment-heavy service and maintenance businessesPitched at service and maintenance businesses across sectors; the same group also sells Joblogic, and the hosted option is described as a Joblogic-provided environmentJob management and a mobile engineer application are the two priced components. The pricing page does not describe route optimisationService agreements and hire agreements are separate modules, and the equipment register holds job history, parts used, warranty details and the related maintenance or hire contract per itemNot described on the pages we readHosted: £90 per user per month back office, £60 per user per month mobile. Self hosted: £60 and £60. VAT treatment not stated on the pageThe hosted option lists enhanced security, internal penetration testing and states Joblogic are Cyber Essentials Plus certified. No contract term stated on the page
Eworks Manager Operations that would rather buy modules than seatsPriced in user bands from 1 to 5 through to 101 plus, which is POA, so it is sold across the whole size range on one productSmart Planning, Scheduled Dispatch and Autoplanning are optional paid modules rather than core, which is unusual and worth pricing before you compare headline figuresAsset management for customer and internal assets, PPM as recurring jobs, recurring invoices and maintenance services raised against assets. Assets is itself an optional plugin moduleA Contractor plugin module and a Construction Industry Scheme module are both listed among the optional pluginsPer team, not per user: £130, £141 and £151 a month at 1 to 5 users, rising by band to £690 to £803 at 21 to 30 users and £2,000 to £2,325 at 91 to 100. Above 101 users is POA. All prices exclude VATNo certifications stated on the pricing page. Extra storage is charged from £10 to £20 per 100GB a month, which is the retention cost most buyers forget
Klipboard Asset-based servicing with QR tagging and a client portalThree tiers with minimums of 2, 4 and 5 user subscriptions, the Professional tier described for mid-sized businesses managing complex operationsSchedule and dispatch on every tier; advanced scheduling, multi-resource allocation and assigning a team to a job are Professional features, with a timeline day, week and month viewAsset management with QR code tagging, PPM scheduling and maintenance planning, a planned servicing dashboard, automated asset servicing reminders and customer contract management, all in ProfessionalNot named on the pricing page. Teams scheduling and a client portal are the closest published equivalentsTiles read 28, 35 and 45 per user per month on a 24 month term (34, 40 and 50 monthly), but carry a dollar sign while the onboarding fee on the same page is £2,500, so the currency is not clear from the pageNo certifications stated. Subscriptions are stated as 12 or 24 months, annual payment saving 15 per cent, with onboarding and training fees of £2,500 or up to $3,800 depending on tier
BigChange Field operations with vehicles as well as engineersPositioned for UK field teams needing scheduling, job sheets, CRM, invoicing, payments and vehicle tracking in one platformJob scheduling and live tracking are stated as included in all plans, alongside CRM, mobile app, quote and invoice, and business intelligenceThe pricing page does not itemise PPM contracts or asset servicing; it lists the included modules at a category levelA collaboration network is listed as included in all plansNot published. The page is a Request pricing form. Priced extras are listed separately: AI dashcams, fleet, fuel cards, data services and rugged tablets or smartphones with unlimited dataNo certifications stated on the pricing page. It states 24/7 UK based support. No contract term published
Commusoft Contract-heavy operations with seasonal or subcontract labourThree tiers described by stage, the top one for high-volume organisations needing to mass schedule hundreds of jobs instantly and to apply customisable security rolesDrag-and-drop dispatch with intelligent routing described as included in every plan, plus real-time fleet tracking and over 40 standard reports and dashboardsService contracts with automated PPM scheduling and recurring billing, and a full asset service history per piece of equipment with QR or barcode scanning on siteDaily licences are sold specifically for subcontractors, billed monthly on the number of days used, alongside contracted and monthly rolling licencesNot published. The plans page carries no figures and routes to a callNo certifications stated on the plans page. States standard plans are built on a 12 month contract, that every office, manager and engineer user needs a licence, and that storage scales with licence count
Oneserve Social housing repairs and retrofit programmesExplicitly field service management for social housing, retrofit and the supply chains that deliver them, rather than field service in generalScheduling and dispatch, a mobile field app and reporting and analytics are the three named system areasFramed around obligations rather than contracts: Awaab's Law, the RSH standard, the Building Safety Act, Decent Homes, MEES, PAS 2035 and MCS each have their own pageThe supply chains that deliver repairs and retrofit are named as an intended user, which is the closest the site comes to a subcontractor claimNot published. The site routes to a demo, offered as a run-through on one of your own jobsThe strongest published set here: ISO 9001, 14001, 27001 and 45001, Cyber Essentials, available on G-Cloud, AWS hosted, UK data residency and GDPR compliance. No contract term published
Dynamics 365 Field Service Operations already standardised on MicrosoftSold by licence type rather than by company size, with a free trial and a separate contractor licence for external techniciansScheduling and resource dispatching is a licensed feature, limited on the Contractor licence. Resource Scheduling Optimization, which builds optimised schedules automatically, is a separate £23.10 per resource per month add-onPlanned maintenance agreements are listed as a feature of the full Field Service licence and are not included with the Contractor licenceA dedicated Field Service Contractor licence at £38.40 per user per month, described as assigning and managing external frontline technicians, with limited vendor and contractor management£80.70 per user per month paid yearly for Field Service, £38.40 for Field Service Contractor, £23.10 per resource per month for Resource Scheduling Optimization. Prices stated as excluding VAT. Copilot capacity is bought separately, pre-purchased or pay as you go, and requires an Azure subscriptionNot addressed on the pricing page. Contract term is the standard annual commitment implied by the paid-yearly pricing; implementation is normally a partner engagement
Salesforce Field Service Service operations run inside an existing Salesforce estateSold by role: Dispatcher, Technician, Contractor, Contractor Plus and Field Service Plus, which is a licensing model built for large mixed workforcesThe Dispatcher licence is described as an intelligent dispatch console with AI-powered scheduling and route optimisation, real-time visibility of field operations and intelligent job assignment and reallocationNot described on the pricing page, which sells by role rather than by process. Technician covers work orders offline, quotes and payment in the fieldTwo contractor licences: Contractor at £44 per user per month or £17.60 per login, and Contractor Plus at £64 or £28 per login, with a contractor portal and mobile app access£140 per user per month for Dispatcher and for Technician, £184 for Field Service Plus, all billed annually, plus the two contractor licences. The page carries a currency switcher covering six currenciesNot addressed on the pricing page. Every tile routes to Contact us, so the real commercial terms come from a sales conversation

What UK field service software vendors publish: price, contract term and security assurance

Last updated

At twenty engineers and up, three things decide procurement long before the feature list does: what it costs, how long you are tied in, and whether it survives your customer's security questionnaire. Vendors are strikingly inconsistent about publishing any of them. This table records exactly what nine suppliers put in public on 15 August 2026.

Each row records what that supplier states on its own pricing or home page, read on 15 August 2026, and nothing else. Blank is recorded as 'not stated' rather than inferred: a vendor may well hold ISO 27001 without saying so on the page we read, and the claim we are making is about what is published, not about what is true of the company. Prices are reproduced with their stated VAT treatment and billing basis. Klipboard's figures are shown without a currency because its page shows a dollar sign on the plan tiles and a pound sign on the onboarding fee. simPRO, Jobber and Totalmobile are absent because all three refuse automated requests at their own root, so we could read nothing at source. Nothing on this page is paid placement and no supplier pays us.

What UK field service software vendors publish: price, contract term and security assurance
ProductPublished priceContract term statedAssurance stated on the page
JoblogicStandard from £45 per user per month, billed annually; Premium and Enterprise on requestMost customers commit to 24 or 36 months; 12 months can be structuredISO 27001, Cyber Essentials Plus, penetration tested
Protean Software£90 back office and £60 mobile per user per month hosted; £60 and £60 self hostedNot statedEnhanced security and internal penetration testing on the hosted option; states Joblogic are Cyber Essentials Plus certified
Eworks Manager£130 to £151 a month at 1 to 5 users, by band to £2,000 to £2,325 at 91 to 100, POA above 101, excluding VATNot statedNot stated
Klipboard28 to 45 per user per month on 24 months, currency not stated on the page12 or 24 month subscriptions, 15 per cent saving for annual paymentNot stated
BigChangeNot published; request pricing formNot statedNot stated; claims 24/7 UK based support
CommusoftNot publishedStandard plans built on a 12 month contract, plus rolling monthly and daily licencesNot stated; support stated as phone and email in your own country
OneserveNot publishedNot statedISO 9001, 14001, 27001 and 45001, Cyber Essentials, G-Cloud, AWS hosted, UK data residency, GDPR
Dynamics 365 Field Service£80.70 per user per month paid yearly; Contractor £38.40; Resource Scheduling Optimization £23.10 per resource per month; excludes VATPrices quoted paid yearlyNot stated on the pricing page
Salesforce Field Service£140 Dispatcher and Technician, £184 Field Service Plus, £44 and £64 Contractor licences, per user per month billed annuallyBilled annuallyNot stated on the pricing page
  • Three of nine UK field service software suppliers compared publish no price at all: BigChange, Commusoft and Oneserve (checked 15 August 2026).
  • The two general platforms publish the clearest prices in this market: Microsoft lists Dynamics 365 Field Service at £80.70 per user per month paid yearly excluding VAT, and Salesforce lists Field Service Dispatcher and Technician at £140 per user per month billed annually.
  • Only two suppliers publish security certifications on the pages we read: Oneserve (ISO 9001, 14001, 27001, 45001, Cyber Essentials, G-Cloud, UK data residency) and Joblogic (ISO 27001, Cyber Essentials Plus, penetration tested).
  • The longest published tie-in is Joblogic's, whose pricing page states most customers commit to 24 or 36 months; Commusoft states a 12 month standard contract and Klipboard states 12 or 24 month subscriptions.
  • Subcontractor labour is licensed three different ways: Commusoft sells daily licences billed on days used, Microsoft sells a Contractor licence at £38.40 per user per month, and Salesforce sells Contractor at £44 per user per month or £17.60 per login.

Cite this page

“What UK field service software vendors publish: price, contract term and security assurance”, Which Field Service, https://whichfieldservice.com/ (updated 2026-08-15). Each row records what that supplier states on its own pricing or home page, read on 15 August 2026, and nothing else. Blank is recorded as 'not stated' rather than inferred: a vendor may well hold ISO 27001 without saying so on the page we read, and the claim we are making is about what is published, not about what is true of the company. Prices are reproduced with their stated VAT treatment and billing basis. Klipboard's figures are shown without a currency because its page shows a dollar sign on the plan tiles and a pound sign on the onboarding fee. simPRO, Jobber and Totalmobile are absent because all three refuse automated requests at their own root, so we could read nothing at source. Nothing on this page is paid placement and no supplier pays us.

Running a formal selection?

Tell us the size and shape of your operation and we will introduce you to suppliers and implementation partners who work with UK field service operations at your scale.

Tick the box above to send your enquiry.

  • Free, no obligation
  • We take no commission from any supplier on this page
  • Your details go only to the suppliers who respond

How we chose these, and how they are ordered

Everything here is sold into UK field service operations large enough to have a dispatcher rather than a diary, and everything here had a website we could read on 15 August 2026. We looked for published evidence on six specific things: what the supplier says about scale, scheduling and dispatch, contracts and planned maintenance, subcontractors, price, and security assurance. Products aimed at one-van and small trade businesses are deliberately absent: they are a different purchase and we compare them separately.

The order is by kind, then by transparency. UK field service specialists come first, then a sector specialist, then the two general platforms that are bought with an implementation partner rather than a credit card. Inside each group, suppliers that publish a price come before suppliers that do not. That is a deliberate choice and it is not a quality ranking: Salesforce and Microsoft publish the clearest prices on this page and sit at the bottom because a 40 engineer maintenance contractor does not buy either of them without a partner, a project and a budget line that dwarfs the licences.

Three suppliers here publish no price at all: BigChange, Commusoft and Oneserve. That is not a criticism, it is the market. At this size almost everything is quoted, and a published figure is worth having mainly as a sanity check before the first call. Two others publish only part of the picture: Joblogic prices its Standard tier and quotes for Premium and Enterprise, and Klipboard shows plan numbers whose currency the page does not state. We reproduce what each page says and never fill a gap with an estimate.

Excluded and worth naming: simPRO and Jobber return 403 to us at every path including their home pages, so we could not read either at source; Totalmobile does the same at its own root. We do not publish a row we cannot source, and their absence is a limitation of this page rather than a verdict. Also missing is the thing you most want: an opinion on which product schedules 40 engineers best. We have not run any of these on a live operation, this table carries no scores or ratings, and the only honest way to answer that is a proctored trial on your own job data. We take no commission from any supplier here and carry no paid placements.

Which Field Service is an independent site operated by Ellul Solutions Ltd. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to any software supplier named here, and nothing on it is procurement, legal or security advice. We take no commission from any supplier in this comparison and carry no paid placements. Prices, certifications and contract terms change without notice: every statement carries the date we read it on the supplier's own page, and certification claims should be checked against the current certificate and its scope before you rely on them.

The questions we get

What is the best field service management software for a UK operation with 40 engineers?

Nobody can answer that from a web page, including us, and a page that ranks nine products it has never run is guessing. What we can tell you is what each supplier publishes. If contracts and asset servicing dominate your work, Commusoft, Joblogic and Klipboard all publish detailed PPM and asset claims. If vehicles are in scope, BigChange sells telematics alongside the platform. If you hold social housing contracts, Oneserve is built around those obligations specifically. If you already run Microsoft or Salesforce estates, both publish clear per-user prices and both are bought with an implementation partner.

How much does field service management software cost per user in the UK?

The published prices we could read on 15 August 2026 ranged from £45 per user per month (Joblogic Standard, billed annually) to £184 per user per month (Salesforce Field Service Plus, billed annually). In between: Microsoft Dynamics 365 Field Service at £80.70 per user per month paid yearly excluding VAT, Salesforce Dispatcher and Technician at £140, and Protean Software at £90 for back office and £60 for mobile per user per month hosted. Eworks Manager prices per team by band instead, from £130 to £151 a month at 1 to 5 users. BigChange, Commusoft and Oneserve publish no price at all.

Which field service platforms publish their prices?

Six of the nine we compared publish something. Microsoft and Salesforce publish full public price lists including contractor licences. Joblogic publishes its Standard tier and quotes for Premium and Enterprise. Protean Software and Eworks Manager publish complete figures. Klipboard publishes plan numbers whose currency the page does not state. BigChange, Commusoft and Oneserve publish nothing and route to a demo or a pricing request form.

How is subcontractor labour licensed?

Three different ways, and it is worth modelling before you commit. Commusoft sells daily licences specifically for subcontractors, billed each month on the number of days used. Microsoft sells a Dynamics 365 Field Service Contractor licence at £38.40 per user per month paid yearly, with limited vendor and contractor management. Salesforce sells Contractor at £44 per user per month or £17.60 per login and Contractor Plus at £64 or £28 per login. Joblogic lists a Subcontractor Portal in its feature lists and Eworks Manager offers a Contractor plugin module.

Which suppliers publish security certifications?

On the pages we read on 15 August 2026, two do so prominently. Oneserve lists ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 27001 and ISO 45001, Cyber Essentials, G-Cloud availability, AWS hosting, UK data residency and GDPR compliance. Joblogic states ISO 27001 certification, Cyber Essentials Plus and penetration testing on its pricing page. Protean states enhanced security and internal penetration testing on its hosted option. The others state none on those pages, which is not the same as holding none: ask for the current certificate and its scope.

Do I need field service software, or will job management software do?

The dividing lines are dispatch, contracts and subcontractors. If one person can hold the whole schedule in their head, job management software aimed at trade businesses is cheaper and quicker to run. Once you are routing rather than allocating, running SLAs against contracts, or paying subcontractors as a material part of capacity, you are buying field service management and the price step is real. Note that suppliers use both terms loosely: BigChange's own page observes that the terms overlap and that buyers use them differently.

Why are simPRO, Jobber and Totalmobile not compared here?

All three are real options in this market and all three refused our automated checks with a 403 at every path we tried, including their own home pages, so we could not read a price or a feature list at source. We do not publish a row we cannot verify. That is a limitation of this comparison rather than a judgement on any of them, and it is worth saying plainly because their absence otherwise looks like an opinion.

Sources

  1. Microsoft, Dynamics 365 Field Service pricing (UK)
  2. Salesforce, Field Service pricing (UK)
  3. Joblogic, pricing
  4. Commusoft, plans
  5. Oneserve, field service management for social housing

Compare what they publish, before you compare what they promise

Nine field service platforms sold into UK operations, what each publishes on scheduling, contracts, subcontractors, price and assurance, and which three publish no price at all.

Talk to a specialist